The Pixie Dust Project: Week 1

Welcome to the Pixie Dust Project!

Along with my love of weddings and engagements, I love helping people and spreading pixie dust even more. So in combination with this site, I an beginning the Pixie Dust Project. This project is designed to help others find ways to spread a little pixie dust. This is our first week and I am so in love with the charity we are featuring.

This week’s charity comes from Penn State University in State College, Pa. I spent four amazing years at Penn State and have worked with this charity since the beginning. Penn State’s Dance Marathon (known as THON to the students) has been around for over 30 years. It is a 46 hour no sitting-no sleeping marathon to support the Four Diamonds Fund. The Four Diamonds Fund supports the Hershey Medical Center and kids with pediatric cancer.

During my time at Penn State, I have danced in the marathon as well as been on different committees supporting the marathon. I have worked with THON families and children who have so much life in them for being so sick. I have seen ups and I have seen downs. But if there is one thing that I have learned from my work with this amazing charity is that the quote “a man never stands so tall as when he kneels to help a child,” is so very very true.

So this week we are featuring THON. Am amazing cause that helps spread pixie dust, not only to children who may not have much longer to live, but to there families who are looking for any and all signs of comfort and hope.

This year THON dancers will dance the weekend of February 18-20th. You don’t have to give, but I challenge you to. I challenge you to look at what this college students are dedicating their weekends to. I challenge you to look into your own Courage, Wisdom, Honesty, and Strength. I challenge you, to spread Pixie Dust.

Jenna, Sean, and I. THON 2007 Sean and I are dancers.

Jenna, our THON child. This is WHY we dance.

Dancer circles for Angels Among Us, Imagine, and Wonderful World

To learn more about THON or to donate you can visit their site here: www.THON.org

Leave a comment

Filed under The Pixie Dust Project

Leave a Reply

