Thick and Thin

When I first introduced you guys to Dave and I, I mentioned that we had been through some rough times together. Well today is your lucky day. I’m about to go a little deeper into what I mean by tougher times. Please feel free to smile and share tears with us. We have become better people because of the ones we have lost and because we have gone through times with each other.

Since the beginning of our relationship, David has been very open with me about his father who passed away about 5 years ago. We have spoken in little doses about him and his circumstance, but also about what he has taught Dave. We keep his memory with us, yes, even I keep a memory or two of Mr. Petterson. He has been a huge influence on Dave and there a little reminders that he is watching us from heaven. Even though he is not here with Dave, Mr. Petterson is helping Dave become a responsible adult, even if Dave doesn’t realize it. I get to see it every day.

This past fall I lost someone very close to my heart. My Poppop passed away of cancer. My Poppop was an amazing man and he battled cancer for a few years before it became too much for him. He was strong right up until the very last moments. I was lucky that Dave was able to meet him during our last family vacation to Sea Isle City, NJ with him this past summer. During this vacation we were able to play beach games with Pop, go into the ocean with him (not as far as we used to), and just have fun. I think that Pop knew it was going to be his last vacation but I feel blessed that these are my last memories of him. When I saw my Pop at the hospice, literally a few hrs before he passed, he couldn’t even open his eyes or speak to me. It was heart breaking. This was the one man I wanted to be at my wedding besides my groom, my father, and my brother. My Pop has always been my inspiration in life and my mom says that each of us grandkids have a little bit of him in us. My brother, being the only boy of the bunch, is pretty much the spitting image of my Poppop, personality and all. Even though Dave could not get the time off of work to come home with me for my Pop’s passing, I knew that he was there for me every step of the way. From the day in March, when my mom pulled him aside at EPCOT and told Dave before she told me that this might be my Pop’s last few months with us, Dave has been there for me. I feel so blessed and extremely lucky to have found someone that is going to stand by me through these times. I also feel consoled that Pop really liked Dave, especially the food he cooked for him. I am truly a lucky girl.

Now, a mere 6 months later, I am sitting in another hospice. This time I am in Phoenix, AZ and it’s for Dave’s Grandfather. As my Twitter followers know, I was supposed to go to St. Augustine this week with Dave and some of our friends. However, a few days ago Dave received a call that his grandfather was going into a hospice and if he could visit, he should. Praise the Lord that we already had this week off. This way we are both able to come together and I can support Dave and his family through this tough time. Today I was able to meet Dave’s grandfather for the first time and he shook my hand and we spoke like old friends of the places Dave and I would visit and see while we were here. While I still feel like being in a hospice is a little too close to home for me, I will do it because I need to. Even though Dave hasn’t really had time to see his grandfather, it’s still family. It’s close family and it’s never fun to be in this situation. I have never been to Phoenix before and I am looking forward to our planned trips, and our unplanned ones. I don’t know if I’m ready for what lies ahead of us, but I’ll find out when that time comes. I guess you are never really ready when these things happen.

So even though we have hit our rough spots, we are doing just fine. I think its great that we have had these things to get through with each other. It has bonded us in many ways and made us both stronger people. We understand what each other is going through and respect that sometimes silence is enough. I am very lucky to have been able to meet Dave’s grandfather and will have a sweet memory of him to hold in my heart.

If you pray, we would like to ask if you would just say a prayer for Dave’s grandfather and his family. Prayers for peace and comfort are always welcome. Prayers for good health and strength are welcome as well. We would also like to ask for your prayers for safe travels for us and for family and friends that may visit.

If you are not a religious person, if you would please ask just keep us in your thoughts.

On a personal note, thank you all for your love and support. I have made some great friends through the birth of this blog. Your love and support for all things PDP and Lauren life related are breathtaking. I thank you all from the bottom of my heart.

~This one goes out to all of us who have lost someone close to us. We know that they will always be in out hearts.~

Leave a comment

Filed under David and Lauren

Leave a Reply

