Like old friends

These past two weeks have been a whirlwind. I picked up a bunch of extra hours working with Dave in the kitchen and baking fresh breads for the VIP St. Patrick’s Day functions. I come from a traditional Irish family so I put a lot of love into my breads. It was fun and didn’t feel like work, however it was long hours and a bit stressful. I need to get more sleep.

Along with this, I had a guest in town. This guest made me a bit nervous at his arrival. Ryan, is an amazing person. He is extremely talented, a great friend, so much fun to be around, and more. All of that and he happens to be my ex-boyfriend’s brother. Now, I only have had 3 boyfriends EVER! I have never really needed a guy in my life. Really that’s because I have had amazing male friends. But Michael was different. He was someone I really could see myself marrying in the future. Michael and I were great friends, had similar interests, and more. We had a blast together and it was my first relationship where God was a part of it. It was interesting. However, Michael fell into a group and began to change. We split after 3 months (we were friends long before that) but not before having some great adventures, some including his brother Ryan.

When Ryan decided to come to Florida on Spring Break, I offered to help him out with Disney passes. I work for the company so it wouldn’t be too bad. Only problem…..I haven’t seen Ryan since a few days before the break up. So imagine seeing him again a few years later. It was a bit nerve racking.

However, when Ryan and I met up at the entrance to the Magic Kingdom, it was as if we had continued the friendship from long ago. Hugs were given, laughs were had and smiles were shared. We connected for a brief moment before I headed back to work. When we met up for dinner two days later, it felt natural. We talked about everything. It felt great to catch up with him and see how far his dreams are taking him. It was so much fun to hang out with him and his friend Evan for a bit and I even tried my first cigar. When Ryan said to me, “Lauren, it is soooo good to see you again! We haven’t had this much fun since Piazza.” And then the memories of that wonderful day were shared, even the part where the car broke down.

Needless to say I had nothing to worry about. We were like old friends who haven’t seen each other in a while. This….is something that I simply L~O~V~E!

Has this ever happened to you? Were you nervous at first?

Leave a comment

Filed under David and Lauren

Leave a Reply

